Track-Only Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR Unveiled

Posted on: 2016-03-09

The Golf GTI celebrates its 40th anniversary this year and this new Golf GTI TCR marks the momentous occasion.The limited-edition car is essentially the racing version of the road-going GTI that will compete in this year’s TCR touring car championships. 

Jointly developed by the motorsport divisions at Volkswagen and SEAT, the race car sits on a chassis that is 400 mm wider than the production Golf, complemented by the bulging wheel arches, 18-inch wheels, front splitter and a rear wing that is large enough to double as a picnic bench. 

Naturally, the cabin is stripped out to make room for the safety cage, along with the race-spec seat with head protector and FIA-approved fuel tank. As a result, the Golf GTI TCR tips the scale at 1,280 kg with its driver, making it almost 200 kg lighter than the standard GTI.

It is powered by the same 2.0-litre turbocharged four-cylinder that drives the Golf R, though in this spec it is tuned to deliver 330 PS and 410 Nm of torque. Tasked with channeling the power to the front axle is a six-speed sequential transmission that comes with steering wheel-mounted paddle shifters. Performance-wise, the Golf GTI TCR needs just 5.2 seconds to go from 0 to 100 km/h. 

According to Volkswagen, only 20 of these will be made, and every single one has found its owner. That said, you can see the Golf GTI TCR in action when the TCR International Series kicks off next month in Bahrain.


Source From: Wemotor

Other Auto News

Transport minister: Cabinet has approved harsher penalties for drunk drivers

The Cabinet has given its approval in principle to allowing for harsher penalties against those found to be driving.....

Posted on: 2020-07-15

Local auto market to rebound in 2H

Malaysia’s automotive market is expected to rebound in the second half of 2020......

Posted on: 2020-07-15

Motorcyclists in Federal Territories to Receive Free Petrol Every Month From April

Announced that they will be giving free petrol at every parliamentary constituency......

Posted on: 2017-03-01