Japanese University Unveils World’s First Battery-less EV

Posted on: 2016-03-22

Researchers at Toyohashi University of Technology in Japan have developed the world’s first electric vehicle that runs without a battery. According to The Japan Times, the EV draws power directly from an electrified road surface using special tyres. In a demonstration at the university, the EV managed to move at speeds up to 10 km/h on a 30-metre long test course, which had two rail-like steel paths spaced to match the vehicle’s tyres. Charge from the specially modified road surface is safely derived and channeled to the electric motor through steel wires embedded in the tyres that serve as a conduit. “Acceleration was smooth, and the ride was comfortable”, professor Takashi Ohira, one of the researchers, told The Japan Times.

Ohira has been working on ways to make batteries less necessary for EVs for several years. Back in 2011, he proposed embedding radio frequency transmitter in the roads that would require steel belt in tyres and special equipment in the vehicle to convert the signal to electricity. This test appears to apply a similar concept. This battery-less technology may seem like a clever solution for future mobility, but there will be issues that need addressing. For instance, there will be questions on how much electricity is needed to flow through the roads for daily consumption. Not only that, converting the normal roads into charging surfaces will also be quite a tall order.


Source From: Autoworld

Other Auto News

Transport minister: Cabinet has approved harsher penalties for drunk drivers

The Cabinet has given its approval in principle to allowing for harsher penalties against those found to be driving.....

Posted on: 2020-07-15

Local auto market to rebound in 2H

Malaysia’s automotive market is expected to rebound in the second half of 2020......

Posted on: 2020-07-15

Motorcyclists in Federal Territories to Receive Free Petrol Every Month From April

Announced that they will be giving free petrol at every parliamentary constituency......

Posted on: 2017-03-01